The name of the organization shall be the TwinsLAN Amateur Radio Club.


The purpose of the Club shall, as a not-for-profit organization, be:

(a) To promote knowledge of the art and science of digital communications by amateur radio.

(b) To promote the growth of digital communications by amateur radio in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area, including Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties.

(c) To provide and enhance services available to all amateurs via digital radio communications.

(d) To provide gateways to other local area and national networks.


Any person who pays the required dues shall be a Member of the Club. Full privileges shall be extended to all licensed family members residing at the same address, provided one family member is a club member in good standing. Dues shall cover a 12-month period starting with the first day of the month following the date that the member first pays their dues.

Dues shall be set by the Board, subject to approval by the members present at any regular or special meeting. The Board may, as it deems prudent, set reduced rates for students and others.


A. Officers and Directors Defined

The officers of the Club shall be: President, vice-president and a Secretary-Treasurer.

There shall be five elected Directors. All officers and two directors shall be elected to a one-year term of office. The three Directors receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected for a two-year term of office. The retiring President shall become a Board member for a one-year term of office.

B. Duties

The President shall preside at meetings of the Club and its Board, enforce observance of the by-lays, decide all questions of order, and perform all other duties customarily performed by a club president.

The vice-president shall assume all of the duties of the President in the absence of the President.

The Secretary-Treasurer shall keep and accurate record of the proceedings of all meetings, maintain the membership records, receive and disburse all funds belonging to the Club as authorized by the Board, maintain accurate records of such receipts and disbursements, maintain records of club property, and submit a financial accounting with proper vouchers when requested by the Board.

The Directors shall monitor the activities of the Club as required to assure orderly and business-like operation, study and make recommendations to further the purposes of the Club, and represent the interests of the membership at Board meetings.

C. Vacancies

Officer and Director vacancies occurring between elections shall be filled by a person elected by a majority vote of the Board.

D. Term of Office

Officers and two Directors shall be elected for one-year terms. Three Directors shall be elected for a two-year period.

E. Requirements for Office

Officers and Directors shall be FCC-licensed radio amateurs and members of the Club.


A. Board Membership Defined

The Board of Directors (Board) shall consist of the Officers and Directors of the Club. In addition, the Chairpersons of committees and newsletter editor shall be ex-officio, non-voting, members of the Board.

B. Board Powers

The Board shall be the governing body of the Club. The Board shall have all the authority to carry out the purposes and business of the Club unless specifically prohibited by these by-laws or majority vote of the Members.

C. Board Meetings

The Board shall meet at the call of the President and at such times as the Board may designate. Club members may attend any Board meeting.

D. Board Quorum

A majority of the Board (excluding ex-officio members) shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business at any Board meeting.


Regular and special meetings may be called or scheduled by the Board, provided reasonable notice is given to the membership.

An annual meeting, which may also be a regular meeting, shall be held in May of each year. At this meeting, the Officers and Directors shall be elected and reports shall be given by the President and the Secretary-Treasurer.

The President shall preside at all meetings of the Club or Board. If the President is absent, the vice-president, Secretary-Treasurer, or a Director, in this order of precedence, shall preside. In the absence of the Secretary-Treasurer, the presiding officer shall appoint a Secretary pro tempore to keep an accurate record of the proceedings.


These by-laws may be amended at any regular or special meeting of the Club, but only by a vote of two-thirds of the Members present and provided that at least thirty days notice of the proposed revision has been given to the Members.


When a notice to Members is required by these by-laws, said notice may be given in the form of a bulletin to "ALL" posted on major amateur radio bulletin boards serving the Twin Cities metropolitan area and other publicly accessible electronic communications systems such as World Wide Web pages on the Internet. Written notice will be sent to all members telling them specifically where proposed by-law changes were posted and a phone number for members to contact to get the information in case the electronic posting was unavailable to them.


The President shall appoint the Chairperson of all committees of the Club.


Voting for Officers and Directors shall take place at the annual meeting of the Club. Officers and Directors shall be nominated and voted upon in the following order: President, vice-president, Secretary-Treasurer, and Directors. Voting by a proxy ballot shall be permitted. Officers and Directors shall assume office at the close (adjournment) of the meeting at which they are elected.


These by-laws shall become effective immediately upon a vote of two-thirds of the Members present at a regular or special meeting of the Club. These by-laws supersede and Constitution and/or by-laws previously adopted by the Club.


At the direction of the Board, the Club may be officially affiliated with National, Local and Regional organizations as shall best serve the interests of the membership. Such affiliations may include, but not be limited to: the Minnesota Repeater Council; other regional digital communication clubs and associations; and national organizations such as the American Radio Relay League and Tucson Amateur Packet Radio (TAPR).


In the event that the club is dissolved, all physical assets owned by the Club shall be sold at a public auction and the proceeds, along with any cash assets, donated to an Amateur Radio oriented charity as determined by the Officers at the time.

Revised March 9, 1966 by Ann Foster, NØLLC.

Transcribed and converted to HTML February 2000 by Tim Salo, ABØDO.